Top 10 Federal Circuit Oral Advocates of 2007

There were many talented advocates who argued patent cases before the Federal Circuit during 2007. I felt the following ten individuals distinguished themselves as ten of the best. These advocates were particularly knowledgeable of patent law, articulate, zealous, and persuasive.   Actually, the list is based on cases decided in 2007; so, some of the arguments might have been conducted in 2006.

The pool of honorees listed in alphabetical order are:

a) Robert L. Baechtold* (Fitzpatrick, Cella, Harper & Scinto)
b) Don Dunner*  (Finnegan Henderson)
c) Brian E. Ferguson*  (Weil, Gotshal & Manges)
d) Mark A. Lemley  (now of Durie Tangri)
e) Barbara C. McCurdy*  (Finnegan Henderson)
f) Aaron M. Panner (Kellogg, Huber, Hansen, Todd, Evans & Figel)
g) Matthew D. Powers  (Weil Gotshal & Manges)
h) Colby B. Springer  (Carr & Ferrell)
i) Debra Brown Steinberg  (Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft)
j) Dirk D. Thomas* (now of McKool Smith)

*Registered patent attorney

 The list of honorees for 2006 is available here: [Link].

Stay tuned for the lists for 2008, 2009, and 2010.

(An honoree will find that inclusion on this list and $1.50 will earn them a free cup of coffee in many restaurants.)

Comments are closed.