Archive for the ‘Top 10’ Category

Top 10 Federal Circuit Oral Advocates of 2007

Monday, December 20th, 2010

There were many talented advocates who argued patent cases before the Federal Circuit during 2007. I felt the following ten individuals distinguished themselves as ten of the best. These advocates were particularly knowledgeable of patent law, articulate, zealous, and persuasive.   Actually, the list is based on cases decided in 2007; so, some of the arguments might have been conducted in 2006.

The pool of honorees listed in alphabetical order are:

a) Robert L. Baechtold* (Fitzpatrick, Cella, Harper & Scinto)
b) Don Dunner*  (Finnegan Henderson)
c) Brian E. Ferguson*  (Weil, Gotshal & Manges)
d) Mark A. Lemley  (now of Durie Tangri)
e) Barbara C. McCurdy*  (Finnegan Henderson)
f) Aaron M. Panner (Kellogg, Huber, Hansen, Todd, Evans & Figel)
g) Matthew D. Powers  (Weil Gotshal & Manges)
h) Colby B. Springer  (Carr & Ferrell)
i) Debra Brown Steinberg  (Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft)
j) Dirk D. Thomas* (now of McKool Smith)

*Registered patent attorney

 The list of honorees for 2006 is available here: [Link].

Stay tuned for the lists for 2008, 2009, and 2010.

(An honoree will find that inclusion on this list and $1.50 will earn them a free cup of coffee in many restaurants.)

Top 10 Federal Circuit Oral Advocates of 2006

Tuesday, October 20th, 2009

Since a large percentage of high-stakes patent cases are appealed to the Federal Circuit, I thought it might be of use to in-house counsel to list at least one person’s view of the top oral advocates for patent cases at the Federal Circuit.  This first list is from cases decided during the year 2006.  (Because I typically listen to the recordings of the oral arguments in my car on my drive to and from work, please take note that my impressions can be influenced by how frustrating traffic is on any particular day.)  Generally, these advocates were knowledgeable of patent law, articulate, zealous, and persuasive.

The pool of honorees listed in alphabetical order are:

a)  Garrard R. Beeney  (Sullivan and Cromwell)

b)  Evan R. Chesler (Cravath Swain & Moore)

c)  Don Dunner*  (Finnegan Henderson Farabow Garrett & Dunner)

d)  Rudolf E. Hutz*  (Connolly Bove Lodge & Hutz)

e)  Douglas J. Kline* (Goodwin Procter)

f)  Charles E. Lipsey* (Finnegan Henderson Farabow Garrett & Dunner)

g)  Michael W. Shore  (Shore, Chan, and Bragalone)

h)  Kathleen M. Sullivan  (Quinn Emanuel)

i)  Stephen L. Sulzer (Connolly Bove Lodge & Hutz)

j)  Dirk Thomas* (now of McKool Smith)

*Registered patent attorney

 Stay tuned for the lists for 2007, 2008, and 2009.